Hand County Jail Inmate Search and Jail Information

415 West 1st Avenue, Room 102, Miller, SD, 57362-1352

Inmate Records Search

Find Arrest & Court records, Mugshots and Contact Info.

Hand County Jail is a medium security county jail located in city of Miller, Hand County, SD. It houses adult male inmates (above 18 years of age) who are convicted for crimes which come under South Dakota state law. Most of the inmate’s serving time in this prison are sentenced for the period of over a year and are sentenced for crimes which are serious in nature. The prison is operated and maintained by South Dakota Department of Corrections (SCDC)

Below we have given information about the Hand County Jail including inmate search, phone number, visitation rules/hours and contact information.

Hand County Jail Prison Information

Jail Name : Hand County Jail
Jail Type : County Jail
Location: 415 West 1st Avenue, Room 102, Miller, SD, 57362-1352
Contact Numbers: 605-853-2408
City: Miller
Postal Code: 57362-1352
State : South Dakota (SD)
County: Hand County

Hand County Jail Inmate Search

Unfortunately Hand County Jail does not provide inmate search facility online. However, you can call 605-853-2408 to enquire about the inmate directly.

Note: Keep inmate information like Full Name, age, sex, date of birth and inmate ID handy.

If you are still not able to find the whereabouts of the inmate, then you can try searching on South Dakota statewide inmate search page.

Sending a Mail/Package

Send the mail or package to the address mentioned below.

Inmate Name, Inmate ID
415 West 1st Avenue, Room 102, Miller, SD, 57362-1352

Make sure the mail and package you are sending come under approved item list. For clarification contact the prison administration at 605-853-2408.

Note: In case of packages, prior approval from prison administration may be required. Contact the prison staff for more information.

Sending Money

Inmates can receive money into their commissary account via check, money order or cashier. Visitors can also deposit money directly into the inmate’s account at jail administrative office.

Note: When sending the money via check or money order, make sure you mention inmate id and full name at the back

Phone calls:

Inmates can call to any person on the approved members list between 7:00 AM to 7:30 PM. The receiver has to bear the cost of the call and the call can be of maximum 30 mins. During rush hours the call time is reduced to 10 mins.

Visitation Rules

If you are visiting someone in Hand County Jail make sure you are in approved visitor list. It’s good idea to confirm with the prison authorities before coming for a visit.

Here are the basic visitation rules which one must adhere to:

  • Visitor must not be a prior felon.
  • Must have a valid government ID.
  • For children below 16 years of age, a legal guardian must be accompanied.
Visitation Hours

7:30 AM to 9:00 PM


7:30 AM to 9:00 PM


7:30 AM to 9:00 PM


7:30 AM to 9:00 PM


7:30 AM to 9:00 PM


7:30 Am to 2:30 PM


7:30 Am to 2:30 PM



If you have visited Hand County Jail recently or have any experience to share, fill the comment section below.